Appalachian Regional Commission

The Appalachian Regional Commission was established by Congress in 1965 to support economic and social development in the Appalachian Region.

The Commission is a unique partnership composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a presidential appointee representing the federal government. Grassroots participation is provided through local development districts—multi-county organizations with boards made up of elected officials, businesspeople, and other local leaders.
In an era of reduced federal funds for valuable job-creating infrastructure, the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) program continues to merge local, state and federal funds to implement such projects. 
Reduced federal and state funding for economic development projects has contributed to intense competition for these funds, enabling some projects to be funded, while others must wait their turn. Throughout the six-county region, the need to improve municipal infrastructure continues to grow, while the sources of funding for these improvements continue to diminish. The ability to package multiple funding sources for a single project continues to be a challenge in this environment.

The Regional ARC planning documents are now available online:

1. ARC FY 2017 Project Package

2. ARC FY 2018 Strategy Statement

3. Appalachian Maryland Development Plan

4. ARC Five-Year Strategic Plan for Capitalizing on Appalachia's Opportunities 2016-2020

5. ARC Goals and Objectives FY16